header graphicContact UsResources & LinksAnnual MeetingsNews & EventsAbout Us


The Arctic Division of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has a long and illustrious history. Founded in 1951 as the Alaska Division, the Arctic Division was established to foster scientific communication in the then rather isolated Arctic territory. The name was changed to Arctic Division in 1982 to reflect the membership’s growing interest in high latitudes outside of Alaska. Most of the Division members reside in Alaska and Canada’s Yukon, Northwest Territory, and Nunavut, but any AAAS member who has an interest in the Arctic may join.